# MINUTES of the CIVIC MEETING of the SOUTH DERBYSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL held at the Town Hall, The Delph, Swadlincote on 28th May 2009 at 6.00 p.m.

#### PRESENT:-

## **Conservative Group**

Councillor Mrs. Hood (Chairman), Councillor Murray (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Atkin, Bale, Bladen, Mrs. Farrington, Ford, Grant, Harrison, Hewlett, Jones, Lemmon, Mrs. Patten, Mrs. Plenderleith, Stanton, Timms, Watson, Mrs. Wheeler and Wheeler.

#### **Labour Group**

Councillor Bambrick, Dunn, Mrs. Lane, Mrs. Mead, Pabla, Richards, Shepherd, Southerd and Wilkins.

#### **Independent Member**

Councillor Mrs. Brown.

## **APOLOGIES**

Apologies for absence from the meeting were received from Councillor Mrs. Coyle (Conservative Group) and Councillors Mrs. Gillespie, Lane, Rhind, and Tilley (Labour Group).

## CC/1. <u>ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL</u>

It was proposed, seconded and,

### **RESOLVED:-**

That Councillor Murray be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Murray then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chairman and presided, thanking the Members for the honour conferred upon him. He announced that Miss Sandra Roberts would act as his Consort during his term of office, with Joy Lacey as the Assistant Consort).

## CC/2. RETIRING CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

In accordance with adopted practice, the Chairman of the Council presented insignia to Councillor Mrs. Hood and her Consort, Frank Hood. He paid tribute to the manner in which they had performed their duties over the past year and

this was endorsed by Members of the Council. Councillor Mrs. Hood responded, thanking Members and Officers for their support during her year in office. She spoke of the funds raised for her nominated charities. Given the current economic climate, instead of presenting a gift to the Council, she presented a cheque to Councillor Murray as a donation to his charity fund.

# CC/3. ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed, seconded and,

#### **RESOLVED:-**

That Councillor Atkin, be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Atkin then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chairman and thanked Members for the honour conferred upon him).

# CC/4. PRESENTATION OF LONG SERVICE AWARDS

The Chairman presented long service awards to Tony Burdett (Principal Area Planning Officer), Nick Hayles (Audit Assistant), Cathryn Manifold (Revenue Support Assistant), Diane Storer (Support Services Officer Planning) and Tony Sylvester (Development Control Manager) who had all completed 20 years service as at 31st March 2009. It was noted that further awards had been made to Richard Groves (Planning Policy Officer), Chris Mason (Leisure Services Manager), Brian Perry (Refuse Loader), John Porter (Policy Officer), Sue Schofield (Central Print and Purchasing Officer) and Sue Shaw (Food Technical Assistant) who were unable to attend.

P. MURRAY

**CHAIRMAN** 

The Meeting terminated at 6.30 p.m.