MINUTES of the CIVIC MEETING of the SOUTH DERBYSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL held at the Town Hall, The Delph, Swadlincote on Thursday, 25 May 2023 at 6.00pm

PRESENT:

Labour Group

Councillor Bambrick (Chair) and Councillor Gee (Vice-Chair) and Councillors Archer, Haynes, Heath, Hudson, A Jones, G Jones, L Mulgrew, M Mulgrew, Pearson, Rhind, Shepherd, Singh, Storey, Stuart, Taylor, A Tilley and N Tilley.

Conservative Group

Councillors Atkin, Corbin, Ford, Haines, Lowe, Muller and Watson.

Non-Grouped

Councillor Wheelton

CC/1 APOLOGIES

Council was informed that apologies had been received from Councillors Carroll, Harrison, Jackson and Pegg (Labour Group) and Councillors Fitzpatrick and Kirke, (Conservative Group).

CC/2 TO ELECT THE CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed and seconded that Councillor Bambrick be elected as Chair of the Council for the 2023/24 local government year.

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Bambrick be elected Chair of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Bambrick then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chair, thanking the Members for the honour conferred upon him).

CC/3 TO ELECT THE VICE-CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed and seconded that Councillor Gee be elected as Vice-Chair of the Council for the 2023/24 local government year.

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Gee be elected Vice-Chair of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Gee then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chair and thanked Members for the honour conferred upon him).

CC/4 CHAIR'S COMMUNICATIONS AND OTHER ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chair named Miles for Smiles as the Chair's Charity for the ensuing year.

CC/5 LONG SERVICE AWARDS TO MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

The Chair invited the Chief Executive to present long service awards to the following Members who had completed 25 years of service.

- Retired Councillor Kevin Richards
- Retired Councillor Trevor Southerd
- Councillor David Shepherd
- Councillor Stephen Taylor

CC/6 LONG SERVICE AWARDS TO MEMBERS OF STAFF

The Chief Executive presented a Long Service Award to Sharon Cole, who had completed 20 years of service as of 31 March 2023.

It was also noted that a long service award had been made to Alan Barrett, Angela Hinds and Linda Roberts; they were not able to attend the meeting in person.

CC/7 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 (AS AMENDED BY THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT [ACCESS TO INFORMATION] ACT 1985)

RESOLVED:

That in accordance with Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) the press and public be excluded from the remainder of the Meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined under the paragraphs of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Act as indicated in the reports of Committees.

The meeting terminated at 18:20 hours.

COUNCILLOR S BAMBRICK

CHAIR OF THE DISTRICT COUNCIL