

Dr J Ives Chief Executive

South Derbyshire District Council, Civic Offices, Civic Way, Swadlincote, Derbyshire DE11 0AH.

www.southderbyshire.gov.uk @SDDC on Twitter @southderbyshiredc on Facebook

Please ask for Democratic Services
Phone (01283) 595722/ 595889
Democraticservices@southderbyshire.gov.uk

Date: 08 May 2024

Dear Councillor

Council

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend the Annual Meeting of the **Council** to be held at **Council Chamber**, Civic Offices, Civic Way, Swadlincote on **Thursday**, **16 May 2024** at **18:00** to transact the business set out on the attached agenda.

Yours faithfully,

Chief Executive

To:-

Labour Group

Councillor S Bambrick (Chair) and Councillor M Gee (Vice-Chair)
Councillors A Archer, J Carroll, S Harrison, A Haynes, I Hudson, J Jackson,
A Jones, G Jones, L Mulgrew, M Mulgrew, R Pearson, D Pegg, V Redfern, G Rhind,
D Shepherd, L Singh, K Storey, B Stuart, S Taylor, A Tilley, and N Tilley.

Conservative Group

Councillors N Atkin, D Corbin, M Ford, M Gotheridge, K Haines, A Kirke, J Lowe, S Meghani, D Muller and P Watson.

Liberal Democrats

Councillors G Andrew and J Davies.

Non-Grouped

Councillor A Wheelton.



AGENDA

Open to Public and Press

1	Apologies	
2	To report the election of the following Member at the Melbourne By- Election held on 02 May 2024 - Councillor Matthew John Gotheridge	
3	To confirm the Open Minutes of the Council Meeting held on:	
	11 April 2024	4 - 11
4	To receive any declarations of interest arising from any items on the Agenda	
5	To appoint the Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.	
6	To appoint the Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.	
7	To receive any announcements from the Chair, Leader and Head of	
	Paid Service.	
8	To receive any questions by members of the public pursuant to	
	Council Procedure Rule No. 10.	
9	To receive any questions by Members of the Council pursuant to	
	Council Procedure Rule No. 11.	
	In accordance with Council Procedure Rule No.11 Councillor Corbin	12 - 12
	will ask the Leader of the Council the following question	
	In accordance with Council Procedure Rule No.11 Councillor Corbin	13 - 13
	will ask the Leader of the Council the following question	
10	To consider any notices of motion in order of which they have been	
	received.	
11	POLITICAL PROPORTIONALITY	14 - 16

12	ANNUAL REPORT OF THE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE 2023-24	17 - 27
13	CYCLE OF MEETINGS 2024-25	28 - 30
14	CONSTITUTION UPDATES	31 - 103
15	To appoint Members to serve on Committees and Sub-Committees for the ensuing year (including Chairs and Vice-Chairs), in accordance with the allocation of seats to Groups.	
16	To appoint to Substitute Panels.	
17	To appoint to or submit nominations for representatives to serve on Outside Bodies	
18	To appoint Member Champions.	
19	To appoint Chairs to the following Area Forums: • Etwall • Linton • Melbourne • Newhall • Repton • Swadlincote	
20	To appoint to Panels/Working Groups	
21	The Chairman may therefore move:-	

That in accordance with Section 100 (A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) the press and public be excluded from the remainder of the Meeting as it is likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, that there would be disclosed exempt information as defined in the paragraph of Part I of the Schedule 12A of the Act indicated in the

To confirm the Exempt Minutes of the Council Meeting held on

To receive any exempt questions by Members of the Council

header to each report on the Agenda.

pursuant to Council Procedure Rule No. 11.

22

23

11 April 2024