

F. McArdle Chief Executive

Civic Offices, Civic Way, Swadlincote, Derbyshire DE11 0AH

www.south-derbys.gov.uk

Please ask for: Democratic Services

Phone: (01283) 595722 / 595848

Minicom: (01283) 595849 DX 23912 Swadlincote

Email:

democraticservices@south-derbys.gov.uk

Date: 13th May 2015

Dear Councillor,

Council

A Meeting of the Council will be held in the Council Chamber, on Thursday, 21 May 2015 at 18:00. You are requested to attend.

Yours faithfully,

Chief Executive

To:- Conservative Group

Muk M SArMe

Councillor Murray (Chairman) Councillor Atkin (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Billings, Mrs Brown, Mrs Coe, Coe, Mrs Coyle, Mrs Farrington, Ford, Grant, Mrs Hall, Harrison, Hewlett, MacPherson, Muller, Mrs Patten, Mrs Plenderleith, Roberts, Smith, Stanton, Swann, Watson, Wheeler and Mrs Wyatt.

Labour Group

Councillors Bambrick, Chahal, Dunn, Pearson, Rhind, Richards, Shepherd, Southerd, Mrs Stuart, Taylor, Tilley, and Wilkins.

AGENDA

Open to Public and Press

- 1 Apologies
- 2 To report the election of the following Members at the elections held on 7th May 2015:-
 - Aston Ward: Neil Kenneth Atkin, Hilary Justine Coyle, Peter Watson.
 - Church Gresley Ward: Gordon Edgar Rhind, Trevor Southerd, Stuart Thomas Swann.
 - Etwall Ward: Lisa Brown, David Colin Muller.
 - Hatton Ward: Andrew Roberts
 - Hilton Ward: Andrew Michael John Billings, Julie Elizabeth Patten, Amy Claire Plenderleith.
 - Linton Ward: John Edwin Grant, Robert James Wheeler.
 - Melbourne Ward: John Patrick Harrison, James Neil Hewlett.
 - Midway Ward: Paul Dunn, Robert William Pearson, Peter John Wilkins.
 - Newhall and Stanton Ward: Sean Andrew Bambrick, Kevin John Richards, Linda Stuart.
 - Repton Ward: Peter Henry Smith, Michael Anthony Stanton.
 - Seales Ward: Margaret Elizabeth Hall, Patrick Murray.
 - Stenson Ward: Manjit Kumar Chahal, David Geoffrey Shepherd.

	Elizabeth Wyatt.	
	- Willington and Findern Ward: Martyn Ford, Andrew David	
	MacPherson.	
	- Woodville Ward: Kim Angela Coe, Gillian Ann Farrington, Stephen	
	Taylor.	
3	To receive the Open Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on	
	2nd April 2015 (Minute Nos. CL/141 - CL/153)	
	Council 2nd April 2015 CL/141-CL/153	7 - 11
4	To note any declarations of interest arising from any items on the	
	Agenda	
5	To appoint the Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.	
6	To appoint the Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.	
7	To receive any announcements from the Chairman, Leader and	
	Head of Paid Services.	
8	To receive any questions by members of the public pursuant to	
	Council Procedure Rule No.10.	
9	To receive any questions by Members of the Council pursuant to	
	Council procedure Rule No. 11.	
10	To consider any Notices of Motion in order of which they have been received.	
11	To receive and consider the Open Minutes of the following	
	Committees:-	
	Planning Committee 24th March 2015 PL/179-PL/191	12 - 15
	Overview and Scrutiny Committee 25th March 2015 OS/51-OS/57	16 - 17
	Standards Sub-Committee 26th March 2015 SC/1-SC/4	18 - 21

- Swadlincote Ward: Robert Coe, Neil Anthony Tilley, Sandra

	Environmental and Development Services 9th April 2015 EDS/95- EDS/102	22 - 26
	Planning Committee 14th April 2015 PL/192-PL/205	27 - 31
	Housing and Community Services Committee 16th April 2015 HCS/86-HCS/95	32 - 35
	Finance and Management Committee 23rd April 2015 FM/123-FM/131	36 - 38
12	Political Proportionality	39 - 41
13 14	To appoint Members to serve on Committees and Sub-Committees for the ensuing year (including Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen), in accordance with the allocation of seats to Groups and to appoint Members to Working Panels. To appoint the Substitute Panels (to be circulated).	42 - 45
15	To appoint or submit nominations for representatives to serve on Outside Bodies.	46 - 48
16	To appoint Member Champions.	49 - 49
17	To Appoint Chairmen of the following Area Forums:	50 - 50
	- Etwall Area Forum	
	- Linton Area Forum	
	- Melbourne Area Forum	
	- Newhall Area Forum	

- Repton Area Forum
- Swadlincote Area Forum

18	Overview and Scrutiny Committee Annual Report 2014-15	51 - 60
19	Cycle of Meetings 2015/16	61 - 61
	Cycle of Meetings 2015/16 - APPENDIX 1	62 - 63
20	Planning Code of Good Practice	64 - 65
	Planning Code of Good Practice - APPENDIX A	66 - 74
21	Temporary Appointment of District Councillors to Parish Councils	75 - 76
	Temporary Appointment of District Councillors to Parish Councils - APPENDIX 1	77 - 77

Exclusion of the Public and Press:

22 The Chairman will therefore move:-

That in accordance with Section 100 (A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 the press and public be excluded from the remainder of the Meeting as it is likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, that there would be disclosed exempt information as defined in the paragraph of Part I of the Schedule 12A of the Act indicated in the reports of Committees.

- 23 To confirm the Exempt Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 2nd April 2015 (Minute Nos.CL/154 CL/157).
 Council 2nd April 2015 CL/154-CL/157
- To receive any Exempt questions by Members of the Council pursuant to Council procedure Rule No. 11.
- 25 To receive and consider the Exempt Minutes of the following

Committees:-

Environmental and Development Services 9th April 2015 EDS/103-

EDS/104

Planning Committee 14th April 2015 PL/206-PL/207

Housing and Community Services Committee 16th April 2015

HCS/96-HCS/97

Finance and Management Committee 23rd April 2015 FM/132-

FM/137