REPORT TO: COUNCIL AGENDA ITEM: 17

DATE OF CATEGORY: MEETING: 10<sup>TH</sup> NOVEMBER 2011 DELEGATED

PARAGRAPH NO: N/A

**OPEN** 

MEMBERS' DOC:

**CHIEF EXECUTIVE** 

**CONTACT POINT: NEIL BETTERIDGE (595895)** 

SUBJECT: REVIEW OF PARLIAMENTARY REF:

**CONSTITUENCIES 2013** 

WARD(S)

**REPORT FROM:** 

AFFECTED: ALL

## 1.0 Recommendations

1.1 The Council's instructions on a response to the Boundary Commission for England are requested.

## 2.0 Purpose of Report

2.1 To consider the Council's response to the initial proposals of the Boundary Commission for England for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

### 3.0 Summary

- 3.1 The Boundary Commission for England is currently conducting a review, which concludes in 2013, on the basis of new rules laid down by Parliament. These rules involve a significant reduction in the number of constituencies in England (from 533 to 502) and require that every constituency apart from two specified exceptions must have an electorate that is no smaller than 72,810 and no larger than 80,473. This represents a tolerance level of 5% either side of the electoral quota of 76,641. For this Review, the electorate figures used are those from the electoral registers required to be published on or before 1<sup>st</sup> December 2010 and the local government boundaries referred to are those in force as at 6<sup>th</sup> May 2010. Therefore, for South Derbyshire, the Ward boundaries referred to are those prior to the current Ward boundaries which were introduced by an Electoral Review in 2010, being effective from the District Council elections in May 2011.
- 3.2 The Boundary Commission has now completed the first stage of the review process and has published its initial proposals. The East Midlands region (counties of Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire and Nottinghamshire) has been allocated 44 constituencies a reduction of two from the current arrangement. The proposals leave 10 of the 46 existing constituencies unchanged. In Derbyshire, the proposed allocation has been reduced from 11 to 10 constituencies and none of the existing constituencies remains unchanged.

3.3 The Boundary Commission is consulting on the initial proposals for 12 weeks, until 5<sup>th</sup> December 2011. Following the representations received, there will then be a further consultation period towards the end of 2012 on any revised proposals. Final recommendations must be made to the Government by 1<sup>st</sup> October 2013. The Government will then turn the recommendations into draft legislation and if approved by Parliament, the recommended changes will be implemented for the next General Election after the date on which the legislation is passed.

# 4.0 Detail

- 4.1 There are currently 11 constituencies in the Derbyshire sub-region, which comprises the County of Derbyshire and the City of Derby unitary authority. Only the Chesterfield constituency has an electorate within 5% of the electoral quota and the electorates of the remaining constituencies fall below the lower 5% limit. As mentioned in paragraph 3.2, it is proposed to allocate 10 constituencies to this sub-region, a reduction of one from the current arrangement.
- 4.2 In order to increase the electorate in the existing High Peak constituency, it is proposed to extend it to incorporate the town of Hathersage and the surrounding area, currently located in the Derbyshire Dales constituency but which has previously been in the High Peak constituency. The proposed Derbyshire Dales constituency also extends south to incorporate the former Etwall, Hatton, Hilton and North West Wards. All the remaining 13 former Wards currently located in the South Derbyshire constituency are combined with the Boulton and Chellaston Wards from the southern suburbs of the City of Derby in a proposed Derby South and Swadlincote constituency. The Commission considers that these two Wards are the most appropriate for inclusion in a constituency linking Derby and South Derbyshire, due to the communication links between the areas.
- 4.3 It is therefore proposed that the 17 former Wards comprising the South Derbyshire constituency are allocated between two constituencies, being the Derby South and Swadlincote constituency and the Derbyshire Dales constituency. Full details of these proposed constituencies are attached at Annexes 'A' and 'B' respectively.

## 5.0 Corporate Implications

5.1 The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial nondepartmental public body which is responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England. The Commission is currently conducting a review on the basis of new rules laid down by Parliament.

### 6.0 Community Implications

6.1 The Boundary Commission is consulting on its initial proposals for a period of 12 weeks from 13<sup>th</sup> September to 5<sup>th</sup> December 2011 and is encouraging everyone to use this opportunity to contribute to the design of the new constituencies.

### 6.0 Background Papers

6.1 Initial Proposals of Boundary Commission for England