

#### F. McArdle Chief Executive

Civic Offices, Civic Way, Swadlincote, Derbyshire DE11 0AH

www.south-derbys.gov.uk

Please ask for: Paul Spencer Phone: (01283) 595722 Ext. 5722

Typetalk: (0870) 240958 DX 23912 Swadlincote

E-mail:paul.spencer@south-derbys.gov.uk

Our ref: PDS/KW

Your ref:

Date: 11th May 2011

Dear Councillor,

## **Annual Council Meeting**

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend the Annual Meeting of the Council to be held in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices, Civic Way, Swadlincote on THURSDAY, 19th May 2011 at 6.00 p.m. to transact the business set out on the attached agenda.

Yours faithfully,

Mr M PArolle

Chief Executive

### To:- Conservative Group

Councillor Atkin (Chairman), Councillor Stanton (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Bale, Mrs. Brown, Ford, Mrs. Hall, Harrison, Hewlett, Mrs. Hood, Jones, Lemmon, Murray, Mrs. Patten, Mrs. Plenderleith, Roberts, Smith, Mrs. Watson, Watson and Wheeler.

#### **Labour Group**

Councillors Bambrick, Bell, Chahal, Dunn, Frost, Mrs. Heath, Mrs. Mead, Mulgrew, Pearson, Rhind, Richards, Shepherd, Southerd, Stuart, Taylor, Tilley and Wilkins.















#### AGENDA

- (1) Apologies.
- (2) To report the election of the following Members at the elections held on 5th May 2011:-

**Aston Ward** 

Neil Kenneth Atkin Ann Watson Selby Peter Watson

**Etwall Ward** 

Lisa Brown John Lawrence Lemmon

**Hilton Ward** 

Michael John Palmer Bale Julie Elizabeth Patten Amy Claire Plenderleith

**Melbourne Ward** 

John Patrick Harrison James Neil Hewlett

Newhall and Stanton Ward

Sean Andrew Bambrick Jean Mead Kevin John Richards

**Seales Ward** 

Steven James Frost Margaret Elizabeth Hall

Swadlincote Ward

Nora Yvonne Heath Michael Edward Mulgrew Neil Anthony Tilley

**Woodville Ward** 

Roy Leonard Bell Patrick Murray Stephen Taylor **Church Gresley Ward** 

Gordon Edgar Rhind Trevor Southerd Benjamin Stuart

**Hatton Ward** 

**Andrew Roberts** 

**Linton Ward** 

Charles William Jones Robert James Wheeler

Midway Ward

Paul Dunn Robert William Pearson Peter John Wilkins

Repton Ward

Peter Henry Smith Michael Anthony Stanton

Stenson Ward

Manjit Kumar Chahal David Geoffrey Shepherd

Willington and Findern Ward

Martyn Ford Ann Hood

- (3) To confirm the Open Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 14th April 2011 (Minutes Nos. CL/113 CL/125). (Pages 6-10)
- (4) To receive any declarations of interest arising from any items on the agenda.
- (5) To appoint the Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.
- (6) To appoint the Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.
- (7) To receive any announcements from the Chairman, Leader and Head of Paid Service.

- (8) To receive any questions by members of the public pursuant to Council Procedure Rule No. 10.
- (9) To receive any questions by Members of the Council pursuant to Council Procedure Rule No. 11.
- (10) To deal with any business remaining from the last Meeting.
- (11) To consider any Notices of Motion in order of which they have been received.

## PART I - ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION IN PUBLIC (OPEN)

(12) To receive and consider the Open report of the following Committee:-

CommitteeDateMinutes Nos.Planning26.04.11PL/126 – PL/137

- (13) Political Composition. (To be circulated)
- (14) To appoint Members to serve on Committees and Sub-Committees for the ensuing year (including Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen), in accordance with the allocation of seats to Groups and to appoint Members to Working Panels. (To be circulated)
- (15) To appoint the Substitute Panels. (To be circulated)
- (16) To appoint or submit nominations for representatives to serve on Outside Bodies. **(To be circulated)**
- (17) To appoint Member Champions. (To be circulated)
- (18) To appoint the Chairmen of the following Area Forums:-

Etwall Area Forum
Linton Area Forum
Melbourne Area Forum
Newhall Area Forum
Repton Area Forum
Swadlincote Area Forum

- (19) Role of Chairman of the Council. (Page 11)
- (20) Contract Procedural Rules. (Page 17)
- (21) Annual Report of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee 2010/11. (Page 44)

## <u>PAR</u>T II

# THE PRESS AND THE PUBLIC MAY BE EXCLUDED FROM THE MEETING DURING CONSIDERATION OF THE FOLLOWING ITEMS (EXEMPT)

(22) The Chairman will therefore move:-

That in accordance with Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 the press and public be excluded from the remainder of the Meeting as it is likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, that there would be disclosed exempt information as defined in the paragraphs of Part I of Schedule 12A of the Act indicated in the reports of Committees.

- (23) To confirm the Exempt Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 14th April 2011 (Minutes Nos. CL/126 CL/127). (Page 53)
- (24) To receive any questions by Members of the Council pursuant to Council Procedure Rule No. 11.