<u>OPEN</u>

MINUTES of the CIVIC MEETING of the SOUTH DERBYSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL held at the Town Hall, The Delph, Swadlincote on 29th May 2014 at 6.00 p.m.

PRESENT:-

Conservative Group

Councillor Mrs Hood (Chairman), Councillor Murray (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Atkin,Bale,Mrs.Brown,Ford, Mrs. Hall, Harrison, Hewlett, Jones, Lemmon, Murray, Mrs. Patten, Mrs. Plenderleith, Smith, Stanton, Mrs. Watson, Watson and Wheeler.

Labour Group

Councillors Bambrick, Bell, Chahal, Dunn, Frost, Mrs. Heath, Mrs. Mead, Mulgrew, Pearson, Rhind, Richards, Shepherd, Southerd, Stuart, Taylor, Tilley and Wilkins.

CC/1. <u>APOLOGIES</u>

Apologies for absence from the Meeting were received from Councillor Roberts (Conservative Group)

CC/2. ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed, and seconded that Councillor Murray be elected as chairman of the Council for the 2014/15 local government year.

It was further proposed and seconded that this proposal be amended and that Councillor Bambrick be elected as Chairman.

The amendment was not carried and the Council agreed instead the substantive motion that Councillor Murray be elected as Chairman of the Council.

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor Murray be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Murray then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chairman and presided, thanking the Members for the honour conferred upon him. He announced that Mrs Sandra Murray would act as his Consort during his term of office).

CC/3. RETIRING CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

In accordance with adopted practice, the Chairman of the Council presented insignia to Councillor Mrs Hood and her Consort, Mr. Frank Hood. He paid tribute to the manner in which they had performed their duties over the past year and this was endorsed by Members of the Council. Councillor Mrs Hood responded thanking members and Officers for their support during her year if office.

CC/4. ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed, and seconded Councillor Atkin be elected, and,

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor Atkin be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Atkin then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chairman and thanked Members for the honour conferred upon him).

CC/5. PRESENTATION OF LONG SERVICE AWARDS

The Chairman presented a long service awards to Jayne Beech and Ray Bateman , who had completed 20 years service as at 31st March 2014.

P MURRAY

CHAIRMAN

The Meeting terminated at 6.35 p.m.