MINUTES of the CIVIC MEETING of the SOUTH DERBYSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL held at the Town Hall, The Delph, Swadlincote on 26th May 2011 at 6.00 p.m.

PRESENT:-

Conservative Group

Councillor Atkin (Chairman), Councillor Stanton (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Bale, Mrs. Brown, Ford, Mrs. Hall, Harrison, Hewlett, Mrs. Hood, Jones, Lemmon, Murray, Mrs. Patten, Mrs. Plenderleith, Roberts, Smith, Mrs. Watson, Watson and Wheeler.

Labour Group

Councillors Bambrick, Bell, Chahal, Dunn, Frost, Mrs. Heath, Mrs. Mead, Mulgrew, Pearson, Rhind, Richards, Shepherd, Southerd, Stuart, Taylor, Tilley and Wilkins.

CC/1. ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed, seconded and,

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor Stanton be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Stanton then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chairman and presided, thanking the Members for the honour conferred upon him. He announced that Mrs. Heather Stanton would act as his Consort during his term of office).

CC/2. RETIRING CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

In accordance with adopted practice, the Chairman of the Council presented insignia to Councillor Atkin and his Consorts, Barbara James and Kathy Slater. He paid tribute to the manner in which they had performed their duties over the past year and this was endorsed by Members of the Council. Councillor Atkin responded, thanking Members and Officers for their support during his year in office. He spoke of the funds raised for the nominated charities and the gift that would be presented to the Council.

CC/3. **ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL**

It was proposed, seconded and,

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor Bale be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Bale then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chairman and thanked Members for the honour conferred upon him).

CC/4. PRESENTATIONS TO PAST MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

The Chairman made presentations to past Councillors Mrs. Gillespie, Grant, Pabla, Timms, Mrs. Wheeler M.P. and Dunn in appreciation of their contribution and service to the community. The five remaining past Councillors Bladen, Mrs. Coyle, Mrs. Farrington, Mrs. Lane and Lane were unable to attend the Meeting and accordingly, arrangements would be made for their gifts to be forwarded to them.

The Leader of the Council paid particular tribute to former Councillor Bill Dunn and asked the Chief Executive to convene an Extraordinary meeting of the Council, to consider making Mr. Dunn an Honorary Freeman of the District of South Derbyshire.

RESOLVED:-

That an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council be held immediately prior to the next scheduled Council Meeting on 7th July 2011, in order to consider making Mr. Dunn an Honorary Freeman of the District of South Derbyshire.

CC/5. PRESENTATION OF LONG SERVICE AWARDS

The Chairman presented long service awards to Denise Blyde (Private Sector Housing Manager), Janet Costello (Benefits Assessor), Angela Davies (Community Warden), Tim Dening (Area Planning Officer), Barbara Hines (Investigation and Assurance Officer), Joyce Lambert (Land Charges Officer), Linda Pardner (Housing Officer) and Karan Sharpe (Community Warden), who had all completed 20 years service as at 31st March 2011. It was noted that awards had also been made to Marilyn Hallard (Design and Conservation Officer), Steph Heldreich (Debt Recovery and Management Officer), Karen Lawrenson (Business Support Team Leader), Anne Moore (Customer Services Advisor) and Sallyann Toone (Technical Officer - Pollution), who were unable to attend.

M. A. STANTON

CHAIRMAN

The Meeting terminated at 6.55 p.m.