LICENSING AND APPEALS COMMITTEE

24th June 2004

PRESENT:-

District Council Representatives

Councillors Harrington and Dunn (Labour Group) and Councillor Bladen (Conservative Group).

J. Tsoi (Advisor/Secretary to the Committee), T. Neaves (Chief Finance Officer), C. Swain (Revenue Manager) and J. Bellm (Democratic Services Officer).

Non-Council Representatives

Representatives of the four Appellants.

LA/4. **APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR**

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor W. Dunn be appointed Chair for the Meeting.

MATTER DELEGATED TO COMMITTEE

LA/5. LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972 (AS AMENDED BY THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT [ACCESS TO INFORMATION] ACT 1985)

RESOLVED:-

That, in accordance with Section 100(A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended), the press and public be excluded from the remainder of the Meeting as it is likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, that there would be disclosed exempt information as defined in the paragraphs of Part 1 of the Schedule 12A of the Act indicated in brackets after each item.

DISCRETIONARY RATE RELIEF APPEAL HEARINGS (Paragraph 7)

The Committee considered four discretionary rate relief appeals, two of which were granted and two of which were refused.

W. DUNN

CHAIR