MINUTES of the CIVIC MEETING of the SOUTH DERBYSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL held at the Town Hall, The Delph, Swadlincote on 28th May 2015 at 6.00 p.m.

PRESENT:-

Conservative Group

Councillor Murray (Chairman), Councillor Atkin (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Mrs. Brown, Mrs, Coe, Coe, Mrs. Coyle, Mrs. Farrington, Ford, Grant, Mrs. Hall, Harrison, Hewlett, Muller, Mrs. Patten, Mrs. Plenderleith, Roberts, Smith, Stanton, Swann, Watson, Wheeler and Mrs Wyatt

Labour Group

Councillors Bambrick, Dunn, Rhind, Richards, Shepherd, Southerd, Taylor, Tilley and Wilkins

CC/1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the Meeting were received from Councillors Billings and MacPherson (Conservative Group) and Councillors Chahal, Pearson and Mrs Stuart (Labour Party)

CC/2. <u>ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL</u>

It was proposed, and seconded that Councillor Atkin be elected as chairman of the Council for the 2015/16 local government year.

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor Atkin be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Atkin then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chairman and presided, thanking the Members for the honour conferred upon him. He announced that Mrs Kathy Slater would act as his Principal Consort and Mrs. Barbara James as his Deputy Consort during his term of office.

CC/3. TO RECEIVE SUCH COMMUNICATIONS AS THE CHAIRMAN MAY DESIRE TO LAY BEFORE OR TO MAKE TO THE COUNCIL OR TO RECEIVE ANY ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman invited the Chief Executive to present The High Sheriffs Commendation Award to Councillor Murray for his service during his term in office.

The Chairman invited the Chief Executive to present The Coat of Arms to Jo Smith, Chief Executive of the CVS (Community Voluntary Service) as a token of appreciation to reflect her long service.

CC/4. <u>ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL</u>

It was proposed, and seconded that Councillor Murray be elected as Vice - Chairman of the Council for the 2015/16 local government year.

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor Murray be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Murray then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chairman and thanked Members for the honour conferred upon him. He announced that Sandra Murray would act as his Consort during his term of office).

CC/5. PRESENTATION OF LONG SERVICE AWARDS TO MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

The Chairman invited the Chief Executive to present long service awards to the following Members who had completed 25 years' of service as at 31st March 2015:-

- The late Councillor Michael John Palmer Bale;
- Retired Councillor Mrs Jean Mead; and
- Councillor Peter John Wilkins.

It was noted that an award had also been made to retired Councillor John Lawrence Lemmon who was unable to attend.

CC/6. PRESENTATION OF LONG SERVICE AWARDS TO MEMBERS OF STAFF

The Chairman presented long service awards to the following members of staff who had completed 20 years' service as at 31st March 2015:-

- Katherine Allies:
- · Gillian Coates; and
- Pamela Wilson.

It was noted that awards had also been made to Michael Bowen and Richard Heap, who were unable to attend.

The Meeting terminated at 6.35 p.m.

COUNCILLOR N. ATKIN

CHAIRMAN