<u>OPEN</u>

MINUTES of the CIVIC MEETING of the SOUTH DERBYSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL held at the Town Hall, The Delph, Swadlincote on 25th May 2017 at 6.00 p.m.

PRESENT:-

Conservative Group

Councillor Murray (Chairman), Councillor Stanton (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Atkin, Billings, Mrs Coe, Coe, Mrs Coyle, Grant, Mrs Hall, Harrison, Hewlett, Muller, Mrs Patten, Mrs Plenderleith, Roberts, Smith, Swann, Tipping, Watson, Wheeler and Mrs Wyatt

Labour Group

Councillors Bambrick, Dunn, Dr Pearson, Rhind, Richards, Shepherd, Southerd, Taylor and Tilley

A minute's silence was observed by all present in memory of the victims of the Manchester terror attack.

CC/1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the Meeting were received from Councillors Mrs Brown, Ford and MacPherson (Conservative Group) and Councillors Chahal, Mrs Stuart and Wilkins (Labour Group).

CC/2. ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed and seconded that Councillor Stanton be elected as Chairman of the Council for the 2017/18 local government year.

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor Stanton be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Stanton then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chairman and presided, thanking the Members for the honour conferred upon him).

CC/3. ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed and seconded that Councillor Mrs Hall be elected as Vice-Chairman of the Council for the 2017/18 local government year.

<u>RESOLVED:-</u>

That Councillor Mrs Hall be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Mrs Hall then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chairman and thanked Members for the honour conferred upon him).

CC/4. CHAIRMAN'S COMMUNICATIONS AND OTHER ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chief Executive presented an award to the Flight Lieutenant Alan Thompson for his long service with the Air Cadet Corp.

Flight Lieutenant Alan Thompson thanked the Council and welcomed Flight Lieutenant Ruth Morgan as the new Squadron Commander.

CC/5. LONG SERVICE AWARDS

The Chairman presented a long service award to Peter Bancroft, who had completed 20 years' service as at 31st March 2017. It was noted that an award had also been made to Lorraine Neave for 20 years' service, who was unable to attend the meeting.

The Meeting terminated at 6.35pm.

COUNCILLOR M STANTON

CHAIRMAN