MINUTES of the CIVIC MEETING of the SOUTH DERBYSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL held at the Town Hall, The Delph, Swadlincote on 29th May 2008 at 6.00 p.m.

PRESENT:-

Conservative Group

Councillor Bale (Chairman), Councillor Mrs. Hood (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Bladen, Mrs. Coyle, Mrs. Farrington, Ford, Grant, Harrison, Hewlett, Jones, Lemmon, Murray, Mrs. Patten, Mrs. Plenderleith, Roberts, Stanton, Timms, Watson, Mrs. Wheeler and Wheeler.

Labour Group

Councillors Bambrick, Dunn, Mrs. Gillespie, Mrs. Lane, Lane, Mrs. Mead, Pabla, Rhind, Richards, Shepherd, Taylor, Tilley and Wilkins.

APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the meeting were received from Councillor Atkin (Conservative Group) and Councillor Southerd (Labour Group).

CC/1. **ELECTION OF THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL**

It was proposed, seconded and,

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor Mrs. Hood be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Mrs. Hood then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chairman and presided, thanking the Members for the honour conferred upon her. She announced that Mr. Frank Hood would act as her Consort during her term of office).

CC/2. RETIRING CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

In accordance with adopted practice, the Chairman of the Council presented insignia to Councillor Bale and his consort, Mrs. Bale. She paid tribute to the manner in which they had performed their duties over the past year and this was endorsed by Members of the Council. Councillor Bale gave an outline of his second term of office as Chairman, speaking of the affection of South Derbyshire residents, his visit to Japan and his theme of 'never too old to learn'. He presented a gift to the Council in keeping with his farming background.

CC/3. **ELECTION OF THE VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL**

It was proposed, seconded and,

RESOLVED:-

That Councillor Murray, be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(Councillor Murray then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chairman and thanked Members for the honour conferred upon him).

CC/4. PRESENTATION OF LONG SERVICE AWARDS

The Chairman presented long service awards to Mrs. B. Reed (Electoral Services Officer) and Mr. R. Boss (Group Accountant), who had completed twenty years service as at 31st March 2008. It was noted that further awards would be made to Miss. C. Payne (Graphic Designer), Mrs. T. Betteridge (Cleaner), Mr. A. Lakin (Duty Officer, Etwall Leisure Centre) and Mr. G. Sanderson (Waste and Cleansing Operative), who were unable to attend.

MRS. A. HOOD

CHAIRMAN

The Meeting terminated at 6.30 p.m.