

F B McArdle, Chief Executive, South Derbyshire District Council, Civic Offices, Civic Way, Swadlincote, Derbyshire DE11 0AH.

> www.south-derbys.gov.uk @SDDC on Twitter

Please ask for Democratic Services

Phone (01283) 595722 / 595848 Typetalk 18001 DX 23912 Swadlincote democraticservices@south-derbys.gov.uk

> Our Ref: DS Your Ref:

Date: 8th May 2019

Dear Councillor,

Council

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend the Meeting of the **Council** to be held in the **Council Chamber**, on **Thursday**, **16 May 2019** at **18:00** to transact the business set out on the attached agenda.

Yours faithfully,

Marthe Marthe

**Chief Executive** 

# To:- Conservative Group

Councillor Muller (Vice-Chairman) and Councillors Angliss, Atkin, Billings, Brady, Ms. Bridgen, Mrs. Brown, Churchill, Corbin, Dawson, Fitzpatrick, Ford, Ms. Haines, Hewlett, MacPherson, Mrs. Patten, Pegg, Dr. Perry, Roberts, Watson, Ms. Wheelton and Whittenham.

## Labour Group

Councillors Bambrick, Dunn, Gee, Ms. Heath, Mulgrew, Dr. Pearson, Rhind, Richards, Shepherd, Singh, Southerd, Mrs. Stuart, Taylor and Tilley.



www.south-derbys.gov.uk









### AGENDA

#### **Open to Public and Press**

- 1 Apologies.
- 2 To report the election of the following Members at the Elections held on 2nd May 2019:-

-Aston Ward: Neil Atkin, Daniel Corbin, Peter Watson

-Church Gresley Ward: Jane Perry, Gordan Rhind, Trevor Southerd

-Etwall Ward: Lisa Brown, David Muller

-Hatton Ward: Andrew Roberts

-Hilton Ward: Andrew Billings, Julie Patten, Jason Whittenham

-Linton Ward: Melanie Bridgen, Daniel Pegg

-Melbourne Ward: Martin Fitzpatrick, James Hewlett

-Midway Ward: David Angliss, Paul Dunn, Robert Pearson

-Newhall and Stanton Ward: Sean Bambrick, Kevin Richards, Linda Stuart

-Repton Ward:Andrew Churchill, Kerry Haines

-Seales Ward: Andrew Brady, Amy Wheelton

-Stenson Ward: David Shepherd, Lakhvinder Pal Singh

-Swadlincote Ward: Nora Yvonne Heath, Mick Mulgrew, Neil Tilley

-Willington and Findern Ward: Martyn Ford, Andrew MacPherson

-Woodville Ward: Michael Dawson, Malcolm Gee, Steve Taylor

- To confirm the Open Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on
   11th April 2019 (Minute Nos. CL/142-CL/159).
   Council 11th April 2019 Open Minutes
   6 11
- 4 To receive any declarations of interest arising from any items on the Agenda
- **5** To appoint the Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.
- **6** To appoint the Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing year.
- To receive any announcements from the Chairman, Leader and Head of Paid Service.
- 8 To receive any questions by members of the public pursuant to Council Procedure Rule No.10.
- 9 To receive any questions by Members of the Council pursuant to Council procedure Rule No. 11.
- **10** To consider any Notices of Motion in order of which they have been received.
- 11ANNUAL REPORT OF THE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY12 21COMMITTEE 2018/2019
- 12 ADDITION TO THE COUNCIL'S LIST OF OUTSIDE BODIES 22 23
- 13
   CYCLE OF MEETINGS 2019-20
   24 26
- 14 TEMPORARY APPOINTMENT OF DISTRICT COUNCILLORS TO 27 29 PARISH COUNCILS
- 15 To receive and consider the Open Minutes of the following Committees:-

Licensing and Appeals Sub Committee 9th April 2019 Open Minutes 30 - 31

Environmental and Development Services Committee 17th April 2019 Open Minutes	32 - 36
Housing and Community Services Committee 23rd April 2019 Open Minutes	37 - 39
Licensing and Appeals Sub Committee 24th April 2019 Open Minutes	40 - 41
POLITICIAL PROPORTIONALITY	42 - 44

- 17 To appoint Members to serve on Committees and Sub-Committees for the ensuing year (including Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen), in accordance with the allocation of seats to Groups and to appoint Members to Working Panels.
- **18** To appoint the Substitute Panels.

16

- 19 To appoint or submit nominations for representatives to serve on Outside Bodies.
- 20 To appoint Member Champions.
- 21 To appoint the Chairmen of the following Area Forums:-

Etwall Area Forum Linton Area Forum Melbourne Area Forum Newhall Area Forum Repton Area Forum Swadlincote Area Forum

## **Exclusion of the Public and Press:**

22 The Chairman may therefore move:-

That in accordance with Section 100 (A)(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) the press and public be excluded from the remainder of the Meeting as it is likely, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, that there would be disclosed exempt information as defined in the

paragraph of Part I of the Schedule 12A of the Act indicated in the header to each report on the Agenda.

- To confirm the Exempt Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 11th April 2019 (Minute Nos. CL/160-CL/163).
   Council 11th April 2019 Exempt Minutes
- 24 To receive any Exempt questions by Members of the Council pursuant to Council procedure Rule No. 11.
- **25** To receive and consider the Exempt Minutes of the following Committees:-

Licensing and Appeals Sub Committee 9th April 2019 Exempt Minutes

Environmental and Development Services Committee 17th April 2019 Exempt Minutes

Housing and Community Services Committee 23rd April 2019

Exempt Minutes

Licensing and Appeals Sub Committee 24th April 2019 Exempt Minutes